st johns

Steeples and Mountains

The Griffyn Ensemble perform in the historic St John’s Anglican Church in Reid (est. 1845).

Highlighting the program is Maurice Ravel’s Pavane pour une Infant Défunte (Pavane for a Dead Princess) arranged by Griffyn percussionist Wyana Etherington. Originally written for piano in 1899, the piece was described by Ravel as “an evocation of a pavane that a little princess might, in former times, have danced at the Spanish court,” and has become a much loved piece amongst audiences around the world.

The Ensemble will also be performing works by Canberra composers Miroslav Bukovsky and artistic director Michael Sollis. Bukovsky is at the forefront of jazz in Australia and one of the country’s most talented trumpet players. He recently wrote the Tango-infused Time is Moved for clarinet, cello, and piano which The Griffyn Ensemble has revised with vibraphone instead of piano. The concert will also include two world premieres by Michael Sollis, including a quirky setting for voice and ensemble of Rudyard Kipling’s classic Rikki Tikki Tavi – the story of a snake-killing mongoose from The Jungle Book.

Rounding out the program is Mexican composer Silvestre Revueltas’ daringly original Homage to Garcia Lorca, which was written just after Lorca’s death in 1936. The piece, based on Mexican folk-tunes has often been described as a hybrid between Igor Stravinsky and Philip Glass, and is one of Mexico’s most treasured works of music.

Michael Sollis – Popular Piece
Silvestre Revueltas – Homanaje a Federico García Lorca
Miroslav Bukovsky – Time is Moved
Maurice Ravel – Pavane pour une Infante Défunte arr. Etherington
Michael Sollis – The Story of Rikki Tikki Tavi

6-7 November 2009 @ St John’s Anglican Church, Canberra